Because I’m A Gypsy

286563_190166327721582_655905977_o

When I chose the username ‘Irish Atheist,’ I thought I was making the obvious choice. Firstly because I’m a proud Irish citizen, proud to have been born and raised in the Republic, and proud to have strong family ties to Northern Ireland. Irish culture, music, dance, and language defined much of my childhood and brought me through the most difficult parts of my life. My nationality is part of me – a very obvious part. As for ‘atheist,’ well, I fully intended that most of my online efforts would be in opposition to organised religions. I needed an outlet for all the rage and grief religion (primarily Christianity) had stoked over the years, and ‘The Irish Atheist’ provided.

But there are other labels that could have applied as well. One of them is of course my identity as a sexual minority, being an openly bisexual man. And then of course, the one that is the most misunderstood, the most difficult to explain, and often the most maligned. My ethnicity.

I am a Gypsy.

I am Romani.

The Roma people have a long history, much of it not fully known. The Roma are an ethnic minority that probably originated in Northern India. Around 1,000 years ago, the Roma were driven west by invading forces. They moved first through the Muslim empires, into Russia and Eastern Europe, into Western Europe, and then around the world during the great immigration boom of the 19th Century. The Roma are a largely insulated and closed community. Our traditions are mainly oral, our culture can be very rigid, and our social and religious beliefs rarely fall in line with the powers-that-be.

Because of this, the Roma have been and remain one of the most oppressed, persecuted, and marginalised ethnic minorities in history. Despised for their strange customs and largely dark non-Anglo features, they were maligned and hated wherever they went. The Roma developed a transitory existence, moving from place to place because they were never permitted to settle and assimilate. Oppressed minorities are often gravely poor, and destitute communities have a much higher crime rate, and so the Roma gained the reputation of knaves, thieves, and vagabonds.

Not knowing where these dark strangers came from, white Europeans called them called them ‘Gypsies,’ a corruption of ‘Egyptian.’ The slur stuck.

One of the earliest examples of antiziganist (anti-Gypsy) oppression comes from the Diet of Augsburg of 1547, proclaiming that to kill a Gypsy was no murder, leading to organised hunts of Roma people. Romani slavery was legal in Eastern Europe until 1853. And most significantly, the Porajmos, the murder of upwards of a million Romani men, women, and children in the Nazi death camps.

Today, the Romani communities particularly in Europe face discrimination in employment, healthcare, and education. They suffer from malnutrition, higher crime rates, and disproportional sufferance from law enforcement.

This is where I come from, through my mother. Half my family is Romani, and so am I.

I am a Gypsy. And it took so long for me to be able to say that with pride.

Being a Gypsy means listening to Catholic and Anglican Christians in Europe say that Gypsies can’t achieve salvation because they are born without souls. It means staring at myself in the mirror as a seven-year-old and hoping that I was white enough to get into heaven.

Being a Gypsy means hearing my ethnic identity being thrown around like a filthy slur. Gypsy dog, dirty gypsy, don’t be such a gypsy. It means growing up believing there’s something wrong with you.

Being a Gypsy means sacrificing much of your cultural knowledge and experiences for the sake of assimilation, of being another white person.

Today, being a Gypsy means being proud of my ethnicity but also aware of my privilege. As a Romani who can easily pass for fully Caucasian, it means that I do not face many of the trials that Romani people of colour do, but can still experience the prejudice and hatred.

And today, being a Gypsy means watching my culture and identity being bought and sold like a bauble, and that is what I am primarily here to talk about.

Let’s reestablish what ‘Gypsy’ means. Gypsy is:

1. A description created by white Europeans to identify an ethnic minority made up largely of people of colour.

2. A term that explicitly draws attention to the typical dark skin and features of Roma people.

3. A term that is the root of pejorative slurs such as ‘Gypo,’ or ‘gypped/jipped.’

4. A term largely rejected by the ethnicity it identifies in favour of our own terms for our people (Roma, Romani, Romany).

That’s what Gypsy means. That is all Gypsy means. Gypsy is not a term for a love of travel or wanderlust. It does not mean a free-spirited individual who doesn’t let society tie her down. It is not a synonym for nomad or fortuneteller. It is not a fashion or style statement. It is a people. It is a culture. It is a terrible, wondrous, and cherished history. It is the mourning for the extermination of our people in the gas chambers, not a hashtag for your ugly Coachella outfit.

Make it stop oh gods my eyes

Make it stop oh gods my eyes

This sort of culture appropriation is by no means exclusive to the Roma. The recent hashtag #ReclaimTheBindi focused on the appropriation of Southeast Asian culture for fashion. Excellent books and articles abound on the appropriation and misuse of black urban culture. And of course, the Native American and First Nations have been fighting the mockery of what’s left of their culture for decades.

This is a problem. A huge one. Culture appropriation is a continued oppression and suppression of minorities. While cultures change and traditions evolve, culture is not a free for all or a buffet table to pick and choose. Doing so removes the meaning behind cultural practises and destroys the significance for the culture of origin.

For some reason, this type of fashionable racism seems to be a hallmark of the pagan and Wiccan movements, and that’s the example I’m pointing to today. A location called the Green Man Store in North Hollywood CA is holding a week of classes on Gypsy spiritual practices and magic lore. For twenty dollars a class you can sit around a cauldron and learn about Gypsy spirit altars, Gypsy healing practises, crystal gazing and scrying, and on it goes. Nothing in the class has anything whatsoever tdo with Gypsy culture, history, lore, or practises. The Facebook event also features an EXTREMELY racist depiction of a Romani woman in front of a teepee with tarot cards and stereotyped ‘gypsy garb.’

I called the Green Man Store to enquire further. I was told that the instructor of the class was not a Romani woman (no one actually knew what Romani meant, thinking it was Romanian). It was then amended that she is descended from ‘Irish Gypsies.’ This is again extremely problematic as the ‘Irish Gypsies’ are the Travellers or Pavee, and generally reject the term ‘Gypsy’ to avoid association with the Roma. The meaning was clear. This is a non-Rom making money off of Gypsies.

I shouldn’t have to say how degrading this is, how insulting and how antiziganist. A non-Roma white woman is making 20 dollars a person per class to lie about the Gypsies, to lie about our culture and our beliefs, to make herself some sort of ‘Gypsy witch’ at the expense of the people who are so often oppressed by actually practising Gypsy culture.

Dear Green Man Store: My culture is not for sale. You cannot separate being ‘Gypsy’ from being a Roma. Playing fortuneteller doesn’t make you a Gypsy anymore than playing in the snow makes you an Inuit. This needs to stop.

My identity culture is not a bauble. It is not a commodity. It’s my heart and my breath.

The’ instructor’ of the classes has tried to take me to task on Twitter, giving her spiritual credentials and calling me out for ‘hatred.’ Because how dare I get angry at blatant prejudice and mockery of my people.

I am a Gypsy. I am a Gypsy because I breathe. I am a Gypsy because I live. I am a Gypsy because my people have been enslaved and slaughtered and mocked and hated.

Take your crystals and your cauldrons and your antiziganism and your snake oil and leave me and my people out of it.


The history and current existence of the Romani people can hardly be fully examined in one blog post. If you have further questions on Roma people or this kind of culture appropriation, please feel free to email me at irishepistler@gmail.com.

Image credits: https://romediafoundation.wordpress.com/2013/03/08/opre-romani-women-on-international-womens-day/

https://www.etsy.com/listing/189513107/x-large-gypsy-soul-muscle-tank-for-the?ref=unav_listing-other

12 thoughts on “Because I’m A Gypsy

  1. My first wife was Sherlock, one of the larger Gypsy families in the US. However, her father had assimilated and his children no longer participated in the Gypsy culture.

  2. Thanks for writing this and shedding a little bit of light on the Romani experience for those of us who know so little.

    I know so little in fact, that I’m not even sure how to respectfully refer to your people. I’ve often heard that the term “Gypsy” is a deeply offensive ethnic slur, and that one should never use it. But I’ve also heard it used with pride, like in this blogpost, and when I was in Budapest in February. So I’m not sure how I, as a non Roma should even refer to them (you). Is it at all similar to the word, Queer, for sexual minorities? A word meant to degrade, but reclaimed by the people it targets?

    I know this isn’t the point of your post, and please know that the greater message of it isn’t totally lost on me. I just want to get better at communicating with and about people in a way that affords them the dignity that all people want.

    I’m genuinely happy for you that you’ve come to a place where you can proudly proclaim your heritage. I also feel anger about the fact that it had to be such a struggle to get to that place. So glad for your voice to bring our attention to this kind of injustice.

    • There’s contention amongst the Roma about whether we should disavow the term ‘Gypsy’ or try to reclaim it. Meanwhile, as a non-Rom, try to use our own terms. Generally Rom (singular) Roma (Plural) and Romani (adjective or plural noun). It shows both respect and education.

      Thanks for reading and for the comment.

  3. Wow, I think you have bigger issues at hand than what this blog entry shows. Who s**t in your cereal? I think you need to grow up and stop acting like a radical jerk! I have gypsy blood and I sure as hell don’t condone your opinions or behavior! Let it go and freaking evolve! Holding down minorities? Are you kidding me??? Smh, b***h please! I don’t know what your beef is with white people but I’m sure that somewhere in your blood you have European. I suggest you take a good look at yourself and what your real issues are before becoming one of the jerkwad masses that suffer from “poor me” syndrome! Smdh!

    • Well, ‘GypsyHealer,’ I’ll try to make this very plain:

      The Roma. Do not need. Your approval. Or condoning.

      As for my ancestry, I make it very clear in this post that my mother is Romani and my father not. Reading comprehension.

      And for my ‘real issues,’ I have plenty. The tearing apart of my home by religious terrorists, the denial of my civil rights as a sexual minority, and yes, the misuse and mockery of my culture by individuals such as this person. As a non-Rom (I have no idea what ‘gypsy blood is, the main types of blood are A, B, AB, and O) stop demanding that the Roma stop speaking out against our continued marginalisation because it makes you uncomfortable. Don’t like it? Get off the blog.

  4. I’m actually curious about the Romani people. Like with most things not well known, I wish to learn some more. From what little I could find on the Romani people, I find the culture to be rather fascinating. 🙂

  5. The Green Man store lady is a natural con artist. She claims to be whatever will pay at the moment. She is an expert at telling people what they want to hear, and may have some Gypsy heritage or training. Most likely connected to the Irish Travellers. She is a very good story teller with a quick mind.

  6. Preach it! I’m gonna share this post bloody everywhere on social media tomorrow when I’m up. Take on the green man store lmao xx

    Seriously folks, there’s practically nothing as of 2015 in print which really deals with traditional Romany magic and fortune telling. It’s modern day Wicca with the Gypsy tag slapped on in order to sell ‘ancient knowledge’. If someone wants to know about Gypsy fortune telling one must be raised in a Romany household to know the symbolism. If someone tells you that Gypsies believe dogs represent friends and horses represent work, run (these are traditional gorger interpretations which we don’t use).

    As for ‘Gypsy Healer’ up there, don’t listen to them. Romany people are dead sick of folk appropriating our culture. Real gypsies never say they have “Gypsy blood” they say they are Gypsies cause that’s what they are. Gorgers with distant Romany ancestry say they have “blood”. They don’t speak for us. Someone claiming they have “gyspy blood somewhere” and sticking up for gorgers being racist towards us is a sure sign they are a cultural appropriator.

    Also, like the Irishathist says, “We are the Romany People” is probably the best written most accurate book on our culture out there. Pais Tut for writing this theirishatheist and keep up the good work! Xxx

    • Keep in mind that there are a pretty good amount of Americans nowadays who are just now finding their roots due to the advent of genetic genealogy and traditional genealogy – Many of the Romani who migrated to the US hid and in some cases abandoned their culture to avoid the same type of persecution which had happened (and still happens) in Europe for centuries, so you’ve got an entire sect of Americans finding chunks of North India in their genome and wondering where it came from, and those in the know are finding out that they have an entire culture that was hidden or lost over time to escape persecution.

Leave a Reply

